My Cart

Close

Cannabis Regulations by State

Alabama:
There are no adult-use or medical laws protecting users in Alabama. Click here for information regarding penalties.

Alaska:
Recreational: According to AS 17.38
"The following acts, by persons 21 years of age or older, are lawful... under Alaska law:
(1) possessing, using, displaying, purchasing, or transporting marijuana accessories or one ounce or less of marijuana;
(2) possessing, growing, processing, or transporting not more than six marijuana plants, with three or fewer being mature, flowering plants, and possession of the marijuana produced by the plants on the premises where the plants were grown, except that not more than 12 marijuana plants, with six or fewer being mature, flowering plants, may be present in a single dwelling regardless of the number of persons 21 years of age or older residing in the dwelling;
(3) transferring one ounce or less of marijuana and up to six immature marijuana plants to a person who is 21 years of age or older without remuneration;
(4) consumption of marijuana, except that nothing in this chapter permits the consumption of marijuana in public; and
(5) assisting, aiding, or supporting another person who is 21 years of age or older in any of the acts described in (1) ‐ (4) of this section.
Medical: 
SSSB 94: "An Act relating to the medical use of marijuana; and providing for an effective date."
Other Resources:
Alaska NORML: in-depth information on adult and medical use

Arizona:
Recreational: There are currently no recreational laws protecting users in Arizona. 
Medical: Under ARS Title 36 Ch. 28 (Arizona Medical Marijuana Act), Arizona defines possession limits as the following:

1. "Allowable amount of marijuana":

(a) With respect to a qualifying patient, means:

(i) Two and one-half ounces of usable marijuana.

Other Resources:
Arizona NORML: in-depth information on adult and medical use

 

Arkansas:
Recreational: There are currently no recreational laws protecting users in Arizona. 
 
Medical: Under the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment of 2016:
(a) A qualifying patient or designated caregiver in actual possession of a registry identification card shall not be subject to arrest, prosecution, or penalty in any manner or denied any right or privilege, including without limitation a civil penalty or disciplinary action by a business, occupational, or professional licensing board or bureau, for the medical use of marijuana in accordance with this amendment if the qualifying patient or designated caregiver possesses not more than two and one-half ounces (2 Y2 oz.) of usable marijuana.
Other Resources:
Arkansas Department of Health: Medical Marijuana
Arkansas NORML: in-depth information on adult and medical use

California: 
Recreational:  Under the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSAit is legal for any adult 21 or over to:

(1) Possess, process, transport, purchase, obtain, or give away to persons 21 or older, not more than one ounce of cannabis or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis [HSC 11362.1(a)(1) and (2)].
(2) Cultivate, possess, plant, harvest, dry or process not more than six live plants and possess the produce of the plants [HSC 11362.1(a)(3)

Medical: Proposition 215: Compassionate Use Act and Senate Bill 420 are still active legislation, despite the changes created under MAUCRSA. 
Other Resources:
California Department of Health: Let's Talk Cannabis
California Department of Health: Adult-Use Fact Sheet
California Department of Health: Medicinal Cannabis Fact Sheet
California NORML: in-depth information on adult and medical use
California Universal Symbol stickers: black on white, black on clear 

Colorado:
Recreational: Under Colorado Amendment 64 (Use and Regulation of Marijuana) it is lawful and there is no penalty for any adult 21 or over if they are:

(a) Possessing, using, displaying, purchasing, or transporting marijuana accessories or one ounce or less of marijuana. (Col. Con. Art. XVIII Sec. 16.3)

(b) Possessing, growing, processing, or transporting no more than six marijuana plants, with three or fewer being mature, flowering plants, and possession of the marijuana produced by the plants on the premises where the plants were grown, provided that the growing takes place in an enclosed, locked space, is not conducted openly or publicly, and is not made available for sale. (Col. Con. Art. XVIII Sec. 16.3)
Medical: CO Amendment 20
Other Resources:
Colorado NORML: in-depth information on adult and medical use
Colorado Medical THC Universal Symbol
Colorado Recreational Universal Symbol


Connecticut:
Recreational: There are currently no recreational laws protecting users in Connecticut. 
Medical: Under Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 420f, it is lawful for legal medical patients to posses cannabis as long as:
"(2) The combined amount of marijuana possessed by the qualifying patient and the primary caregiver for palliative use does not exceed an amount of usable marijuana reasonably necessary to ensure uninterrupted availability for a period of one month..." CGS Ch. 420f. Sec. 21a-408a (2).
Other Resources:
Connecticut NORML: in-depth information on adult and medical use

Delaware:
Recreational: Senate Bill 110 is currently awaiting review by the Delaware House Appropriations Committee. It would create a regulatory framework for recreational use.  

Florida:
Recreational: Florida currently has no laws protecting recreational adult use. 
Georgia:
Recreational: Ordinance 17-O-1152 reduced adult possession of less than an ounce to a small fine. 
Medical: HB 324 allows for qualified medical patients to grow and possess low-THC cannabis and cannabis products.

Hawaii:
Recreational: HB 1383 decriminalized adult possession of up to 3 grams of cannabis. 
Medical: Act 228, Act 241, and other bills created a legal framework for medical patients in Hawaii to cultivate, purchase, and use medical cannabis. 

Idaho:
There are currently no laws protecting recreational or medical cannabis use in Idaho. Click here for more information regarding penalties. 

Illinois:
Recreational: Under HB 1438, Illinois states "... a person who is 21 years of age or older and a resident of this State, the possession limit is as follows: (1) 30 grams of cannabis flower; (2) no more than 500 milligrams of THC contained in cannabis-infused product; (3) 5 grams of cannabis concentrate."
Medical: Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act 
Indiana:
Indiana Senate Bill 52 only allows for the sale, possession, and use of CBD products derived from industrial hemp that contain less than 0.3% THC.

Iowa:
Recreational: There are no adult-use or recreational laws in place protecting users in Iowa. Click here for more information on regulations and penalties.
Medical: HF524 established a framework allowing for qualified patients to access high CBD, low THC cannabis and cannabis products. 

Kansas:
Recreational: There are no adult-use or recreational laws in place protecting users in Kansas. Click here for more information on regulations and penalties.
Medical: THC-free CBD products have been removed from the criminal code, effectively creating a CBD-only hemp marketplace within the state. 

Kentucky:
Recreational: There are no adult-use or recreational laws in place protecting users in Kentucky. Click here for more information on regulations and penalties.
Medical: There There are no adult-use or recreational laws in place protecting users in Kentucky.

Louisiana:
Recreational: There are no adult-use or recreational laws in place protecting users in Louisiana.
Medical: Senate Bill 271 created a framework for the Department of Agriculture and Forestry to manage a fledgling medical industry within the state for non-combustible cannabis products. Click here for updates. 
Maine:
Recreational: Under IB 2015 C. 5 "An Act to Legalize Marijuana", adults can possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis flower and up to 5 grams of concentrates.
Medical: Under "Chapter 558-C: MAINE MEDICAL USE OF MARIJUANA ACT", qualifying medical patients and caregivers may possess, cultivate, and purchase medical cannabis. 

Maryland:
Recreational: Maryland has no recreational or adult-use laws in place. However, possession of less than 10 grams by adults for personal use has been decriminalized and is considered a Civil Offense carrying a fine of $100, much like a driving infraction. 
Medical: Under Health General Title 13 Subtitle 33 Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission qualified patients may cultivate, possess, and purchase cannabis and cannabis products (except for edible products). 

Massachusetts:
Recreational: Adult use is lawful under regulation 935 CMR 500: Adult Use of Marijuana.
Medical: Under regulation 935 CMR 501: Medical Use of Marijuana. 

Michigan:
Recreational:
Medical:

Minnesota:
Recreational:
Medical:

Mississippi:
Recreational:
Medical:

Missouri:
Recreational:
Medical:

Montana:
Recreational:
Medical:
Nebraska:
Recreational:
Medical:

Nevada:
Recreational:
Medical:

New Hampshire:
Recreational:
Medical:

New Jersey:
Recreational:
Medical:

New Mexico:
Recreational:
Medical:
New York:
Recreational:
Medical:

North Carolina:
Recreational:
Medical:

North Dakota:
Recreational:
Medical:

Ohio:
Recreational:
Medical:

Oklahoma:
Recreational:
Medical:
According to 63 OK. Stat. § 63-420 (2018): 

A. A person in possession of a state issued medical marijuana license shall be able to:

1. Consume marijuana legally;
2. Legally possess up to three (3) ounces of marijuana on their person;
3. Legally possess six (6) mature marijuana plants;
4. Legally possess six (6) seedling plants;
5. Legally possess one (1) ounce of concentrated marijuana;
6. Legally possess seventy-two (72) ounces of edible marijuana; and
7. Legally possess up to eight (8) ounces of marijuana in their residence.

Other Resources:

 

Oregon:
Recreational:
Medical:
Oregon THC Universal Symbol
Oregon Hemp Universal Symbol

Pennsylvania:
Recreational:
Medical:
Rhode Island:
Recreational:
Medical:

South Carolina:
Recreational:
Medical:

South Dakota:
Recreational:
Medical:

Tennessee:
Recreational:
Medical:

Texas:
Recreational:
Medical:

Utah:
Recreational:
Medical:

Vermont:
Recreational:
Medical:

Virginia:
Recreational:
Medical:

Washington:
Recreational:
Medical:

West Virginia:
Recreational:
Medical:

Wisconsin:
Recreational:
Medical:

Wyoming:
Recreational:
Medical: